My CSC Experience

February 18, 2009

Chapter Recaps

After a handful of failed attempts to create a useful post on an individual chapter, i’ve abandoned the idea of typing out my notes online.  Although I do think it would add some value to this blog to have some breadth to each chapter there are a couple of factors that outweigh the benefits:

  • My notes are simply recaps of the chapter in summarized form.  So ignoring the obvious legal problems I may encounter, the value for people already enrolled in the course will be little to none.
  • Time constraints are becoming unmanageable.  I know I say I don’t like sleep, but that’s a lie.  I just like red bull more, and thus, don’t get a lot of sleep.  For the time it would take me to complete individual overviews of each chapter in any format would just take way to long.  I think it would be a great idea to get some sort of format that puts a good spin on each chapter, but frankly, I don’t have anywhere near the time.  5 days until the CSC-L2 test and I haven’t started the review process.  I really need to get on that.
  • Lack of relevant content: I was looking through my notes, the chapter and thinking about content I could post on this site.  I really couldn’t think of anything I could add of value.  As I have mentioned in previous posts, the CSC stresses only the material they provide.  Anything beyond that scope is irrelevant to testing.  Thus, anything I add would either have to be directly taken from the material or be completely irrelevant points of my own.  Neither of which I think will benefit anyone, and will waste my time.

So unfortunately, no posts on individual chapters.  I am happy to answer any questions you may have at szachary19@yahoo.ca.  I’ll be wrapping the blog up in the next 7 days, with possibly one or two posts before the test, and likely a mass upload in the days following the test.  After that i’ll ship over to the CPH blog for the next phase.

The Dissadvantages of Using CSI’s Forums…..

Below is an example of a posting on the CSC Interactive Online Forums.  I’ve gone on about how these forums provide useful information, but it does have its downsides.

Am I reading this correctly ?

Yearly contribution amount determined by an acturay to ensure sufficient $ in plan on the other hand a limit of 2,444 imposed per year.

Aim = provide 2% of pre retirement income,

times # years served

So I have 20 years left to work 2,444 x 20 = 48,880

Actuary calcultes pre retirement income = 150,000py 150,000 x 2% = 3,000 times 30 yrs ( I have been working 10 years already) = 90,000 gov.

says I’m allowed 48,880 contributions

Actuary says I need 90,000

What happens now ?


I didn’t change any of the formatting, so the spacing is as is.  Needless to say, people tend to make questions a lot harder then they really are.  As you may already know I am no grammar/spelling guru here, so I’m not referring to that.  But complete sentences and some basic background referencing may help others decipher your gibberish code.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.